League of Legends Community
12345 ... 7

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   [Guide] Tactics: It’s What Separates the Good and the Bad, by SciencePrime (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=539712)

SciencePrime 02-24-2011 09:38 AM

[Guide] Tactics: It’s What Separates the Good and the Bad, by SciencePrime

Hello Everyone,

I’ve been playing League of Legends for about a year now and have 700+ games under my belt and a fairly average 1300s Elo. I usually play with two friends who are much better than me and that was the standard in which I learned to play. However, I recently started playing with two less experienced players and wow. What a difference.

The funny thing is, the differences weren’t really in raw skill. The laning phase was more or less similar to what I’m used to. Players were generally conservative, knew how to generally last hit, knew how and when to use their champion’s skill set, ward, call MIAs, knew when to go for dragon… the usuals. Sure, every so often some guy would make a really bad call and I’d think, noob. But in general there was very little early game difference. I was honestly surprised and impressed.

However, the extreme noobness of this lower skill bracket did not rear its ugly head until late game. It was during the late game phase were I found otherwise decent players making HUGE tactical mistakes.

I have compiled a list of very basic tactical mistakes made late game by less experienced players that ends up losing them games. Learn from these mistakes and you will be a much better player. The tips start from the very obvious and get more subtle as you go on. Mostly everyone knows tip 1, but tips 2-5 are not as obvious. I know I haven’t covered everything, but what I have is a start.