League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   Roleplaying Forums (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   Catspaw's Roleplaying Tips (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=440047)

Areia Polias 01-10-2011 09:31 AM

Catspaw's Roleplaying Tips

I've been roleplaying for about 9 years now, and Lord knows that I've screwed up enough to learn a few things about doing it well. I'd like to add my own list of roleplaying tips and tricks to supplement K D Bonez's awesome RP guidelines. First I'd like to start with two ground rules that are necessary to a smooth and fun game.

• You are your charcter's GOD. This means exactly what it sounds like. If you need to change something about your character then you can do it. The only thing that is stopping you is yourself (and maybe the Game Master). Now, I don't mean that if you are fighting a fire demon, your character should suddenly become a holy water mage. This is only a ground rule for later rules to come.
  • Work together to advance the plot. Remember that we are all trying to have fun here. Most roleplayers are the odd sort that likes seeing their characters go through adversity, simply because it means character development (the Holy Grail of roleplaying). The thing is, everybody is looking to develop their character and people want things to happen that they can enjoy.
These are like Moses' 10 Commandments. Below I explain how they apply to good roleplaying.