League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   Guides & Strategy (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Learning Syndra (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=3047079)

Double Delta 01-26-2013 11:04 AM

Learning Syndra

So hello people.

I'm fairly new to the game and have decided to pick Syndra despite the difficulty curve.
I've been reading guides and am trying to improve, but I have a hard time early game generally.

I prioritise Q of course, since it's a great ability. I can poke pretty reliably with it and there's not much I can say about this I think.
I have troubles deciding between W and E, though I have troubles using W generally, it feels slow at times and not very responsive when I move around while holding something.
Actually I have troubles landing abilities whenever I'm aiming near the edge of the range circle.
I'm doing pretty well with the E, though I have no idea why the cone isn't centered on Syndra (makes me miss some shots which can be pretty annoying at times =x).

As far as itemization go, I always start with that small mp regen trinket thing. When I rush chalice, I take 2 since I'll probably upgrade it athene's grail eventually. I get 3 health pots with it.
When I rush tear, I only get 1 but with 2 additional mana pots.
When I take boots, I pick sorcerer's for the mpen (and eventually upgrade them with alacrity).
Generally, after I get those items who are pretty core, I try to adapt for the situation at hand. If it's going well, I start upgrading but if not, get some armor or mdef (the mdef part works a lot in favor of upgrading to athene though).
If I need armor, I grab chain armor to eventually make a zonya.
If it's going really well, I start rabaddon's deathcap.
When it's not going well I have trouble catching up though, plus I have no escape (not yet level 12 so no flash for me).