League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   Guides & Strategy (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Help with adjusting to new champions (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=3024591)

WildKoWill 01-20-2013 12:21 PM

Help with adjusting to new champions

I usually play one champion for a while and then move on to another when I get good with that one. The thing is when it's my first time as something, even if I look up strategy's tips and builds, I tend to have no idea what I'm doing. Then at that point it's just an insult party when I die a few times even if i say it's my first time as them. Any tips on how to get good with Katarina or Daruis before I try them?

mobafailure 01-20-2013 12:48 PM

When you start with a new champ, drop to bot games and don't go back to PvP until you consistently have a positive K/D. You still won't do great in PvP for a while, but you won't embarrass yourself, either.

Crazy Crann 01-20-2013 02:28 PM

Intermediate bot games are a great way to get the flow of a champion without playing against completely idiotic opponents (although they will still be far easier than actual human players).

As mobafailure said, once you hit a point where you have a positive KDA ratio, consider moving up to norms.

Also keep in mind that there will be match-ups that you simply cannot win. There are hard counters to every champion, and there are also players who just play exceptionally well with their champions, and you will lose some matches or even get completely wiped by someone.