League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   @RiotDerivative Introduction? (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=2945891)

GhostPool 12-27-2012 02:25 AM

@RiotDerivative Introduction?

Never seen you around and many are wondering what a Data Scientist is?

GhostPool 12-27-2012 02:26 AM

Self bump~

Judgesin 12-27-2012 02:33 AM

i want to know too.

i love maths and lol

Muhshuhu 12-27-2012 02:34 AM

bump

I like it when Rioters tells us what they do to help make this game great.

GhostPool 12-27-2012 02:55 AM

Bump!

TheMasterZails 12-27-2012 07:49 AM

I would like to see his/her background and how he/she was hired at Riot.

Please RiotDerivative give us the data!

RiotDerivative 12-27-2012 12:40 PM

Greetings Summoners!

I am RiotDerivative and I am a Data Scientist at Riot Games. I was hired back in October and have finally gotten around to answering some data related posts. I see some people doing some cool stuff with data on the forums. That is how I got started in my field -- pulling interesting data and doing something with it. In my case, I used to crawl Twitter and Facebook and analyze tweets and FB profiles and the connections they exposed.

A little about my background if anyone is curious. I went to UCLA and majored in Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science. I continued onto grad school at UCLA and continued studying Statistics and Computer Science (I decided proofs were not for me) and am currently a Ph.D. candidate in Statistics at UCLA. Hoping to be Dr. Derivative this summer.