League of Legends Community

League of Legends Community (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/index.php)
-   Off Topic Discussion (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Dota 2 vs LoL: Why anti-Dota arguments are not valid (http://forums.na.leagueoflegends.com/board/showthread.php?t=2887603)

The Hobo Lord 12-10-2012 10:02 AM

Dota 2 vs LoL: Why anti-Dota arguments are not valid

Before I continue, I just want to say that I'm not a fanboy for either game, my first experience with a MOBA was League of legends (I have arround 800 games played + I've watched some competetive games), just a couple of months ago I started playing a bit of Dota 2 and right now I liked it more (I've played a lot less dota 2 compared to LoL cause I'm waiting to upgrade my PC and watched a **** ton of competetive matches to a point where I can understand everything that is going on)

I'm just doing this post because I get mad when I see some flawed arguments that make no sense. In Dota there are also people that say stupid things about LoL, but there aren't near as much because it's easier for a Dota player to understand LoL than the other way arround (I'll get to that point).

Can we PLEASE have a good discussion once in a while isntead of disliking? If you dislike say what you dislike in my post, and we can discuss it

let's start with the 2 biggest ones (slow and deny):

DOTA 2 IS SLOW AND BORING, DENNYING SLOWS EVEN MORE THE GAMEPLAY AND IT'S DUMB.

1- Let's get this clear: Dota is FASTER then LoL at a Medium or High level. At a lower level LoL is faster because people in pubs people pick 2 hard carries and 2 semi-carries and NO "support" only. In Dota carries in the beggining are more weak then carries in LoL, but they are more strong late game compared to LoL carries. Also, Dota supports have VERY strong cc's. For example, venomancer has a lvl 1 50% slow for 15 seconds(the slow decreases as time passes, but still, that's very strong).